top of page
  • Writer's picturemypassion.mythoughts

Tom Theobald: A Memorial

Updated: Jun 21, 2020


Tom Theobald was one of the most well-known rhythmic gymnastics photographers until a car accident took him away on 28 December 2018. He was only 66 years of age then.


An excerpt of Tom’s accident from Rhythmic Gymnastics Facebook page:


“According to the report of San Diego Medical Examiner, Tom was driving his car near Warner Springs when an oncoming pickup tried to pass another vehicle and crashed into him head-on. He was airlifted to hospital, never regained consciousness and passed away from his grave injuries.”


Tom Theobald, legendary rhythmic gymnastics photographer as photographed by ulrich Fassbender

Tom Theobald was actively photographing the US Rhythmic Gymnastics team for years. Now, how did he join the Rhythmic Gymnastics family? His prologue to this sport is one of his favourite stories, as extracted from his Facebook page:


“GWG 1998 was my first major after 10-years away. I was working next to Patrick Tower (may God bless him in heaven now).


Tamara came on and performed the gala you see here. This was film era still and took a whole roll, because I knew it was really special. So special, I had goosebumps during her gala.


Afterward, I turned to Patrick and said, “Something just happened to me”! Years later, I told Toma that she changed me... ”


Tamara Yerofeyeva's 1998 gala in pink chiffon changed Tom Theobald's career and life, turning on his love for rhythmic gymnastics and had been actively photographing this sport (particularly the US team) ince then

It was Tamara Yerofeyeva, the leading Ukrainian rhythmic gymnast then, who brought Tom Theobald into Rhythmic Gymnastics. Subsequently, it is Tom Theobald who brought me to Rhythmic Gymnastics four years ago.


And I've stayed ever since.


Yes, I owe this to Tom.

I couldn’t remember the exact photograph by Tom that leads me to this beautiful sport, although I am quite certain it is Anna Bessonova (UKR) in her swan lake hoop routine:


Tom Theobald posing proudly with his photograph of Anna Bessonova, Ukrainian rhythmic gymnast with her iconic Swan Lake hoop routine for 2007/2008

Since then, I’ve been closely following his work and am eventually introduced to many other wonderful photographers.


Four years later, I launched my first blog (yup, you're reading it now), developed more Rhythmic Gymnastics digital artwork and finally an Instagram account: rhythmic.palette!


Lyasan Utiasheva, a Russian rhythmic gymnast well known for her extreme flexibility and hard working ethics. Photographed beautifully by late Tom Theobald

I love Rhythmic Gymnastics! I love my blog, I love my artwork; I enjoy all that I’m doing.

Therefore, in general: yes, I owe this to Tom.


If it weren’t for his photography, I may not be where I am today. This sport will be merely another Olympic sport that I’ll skip watching.


Anna Bessonova in her 2008 Beijing Olympics ribbon routine, also the exercise with highest score that awarded her the bronze medal. Photographed beautifully by late Tom Theobald

My blog will probably be more boring than it already is (LOL). My rhythmic.palette account will not even cease to exist!


My profession is not anywhere close to the sport, however, I am proud of this hobby and interest.


Liubov Charkashyna, Belarusian rhythmic gymnast ending her 2008 Beijing Olympics ribbon with intense emotion. Photographed beautifully by late Tom Theobald

All thanks to his photographs too, I can observe and analyse the many facets of rhythmic gymnastics throughout the years.


Not only about the technology advancement and photograph quality, but also the sport's evolution and leotard design changes. These led me to two blog snippets that I can elaborate later *if procrastination doesn't get me first*:



Thence. Thank you, Tom.


Rest in peace.


And God bless.


Signing out,

mypassion.mythoughts


Disclaimer:

mypassion.mythoughts does not own any of the published media unless stated and watermarked otherwise. All original resources are credited as below. Kindly contact mypassion.mythoughts should you wish to remove any of the media. Also, kindly seek for permission and credit for reposting


Cover image information:

"Tamara Yerofeyeva" by Tom Theobald via Facebook


Other images information:

"Tom Theobald" by Ulrich Fassbender via Facebook

Profile picture of Tom Theobald's Facebook page


Images information:

Various palettes by mypassion.mythoughts / rhythmic.palette

コメント


bottom of page