top of page
  • Writer's picturehermitcraft.snippets

hermitcraft snippets on Instagram!

Updated: Jul 22, 2023


I love creating content, I love Hermitcraft... is there a way to meaningfully merge them?


P/S What's Hermitcraft? Read this blog post about Hermitcraft, a versatile SMP for more information and my thoughts!


Yes, everyone, I have created a new Instagram account dedicated to Hermitcraft:




The initial conception of hermitcraft.snippets


I started out with the idea of uploading screenshots or snippets of any Hermitcraft episode. Hence the name "hermitcraft.snippets".


And... hermits being hermits, most of their shenanigans cannot be captured in stills. So I tried video snapshots:

A hilarious video snippet of Hermitcraft Season 7 when Keralis played Decked Out. Full snippet on hermitcraft snippets instagram

This brings me to an ethical question... do these snippets comply with the definition of fair use? After all, I snipped them directly from a hermit's video. Most importantly...


I do not want to be a reposting/compilation channel!



What's this reposting/compilation channel about?


Long story short, social media accounts that only post other creators' content. These contents vary from short clips to a compilation of short clips under one topic.


For instance: "All of Grian's mansion time lapses in Hermitcraft Season 7. Follow and subscribe to my channel for more!"


In honest (and harsh) words, very minimal (or zero) extra work is done. And I would never endeavour to manage such accounts.



Back to hermitcraft.snippets...


This notion had me baffled for a good while. While I don't know everything about creativity rights and extent, I believe it's only considered copyright infringement if one uses the original content without their own form of input.


My understanding is more or less in line with Xisumavoid, one of the hermits:



In simple terms: I need to see ME in my hermitcraft.snippets posts... somehow.


And my resolution?



Storytelling and video editing, that is!


I'm determined to create my own edits although I have zero experience in video editing. Solution?


Learn! Explore! Experiment! Learn more!

At the time of writing, I've been running hermitcraft.snippets account for almost nine months now. And I'm proud to say I've found my trademark, which is... *redacted spoiler for a future blog post*


Want to know more about my work? Hop on to my Instagram account and give me a follow!


I also have a YouTube channel of the same name, so you're more than welcome to subscribe to me too! :D



Disclaimer:

hermitcraft.snippets does not own any of the published media unless stated and watermarked otherwise. All media are credited as written at the end of the article. Kindly contact me should you wish to remove any of the above media.

Комментарии


bottom of page