top of page
Writer's picturehermitcraft.snippets

Grian Grian You Are AFK~~~

Updated: Mar 18, 2023


Hello and welcome back to my Hermitcraft blog!


If you aren't aware already, I am better known as hermitcraft.snippets on Instagram and YouTube, where I publish my video edits on Hermitcraft and occasionally Grian's Life Series (3rd Life, Last Life, Double Life).


Today, I would like to blog the backstory of my many edits. A behind-the-scenes, you may say. I'll briefly write about the inspiration, thought process, editing procedure etc.

hermitcraft snippets on Instagram! Although I also write Hermitcraft blogs


We all know what Grian is known for... the Master of Shenanigans!


It all started when Grian decided to conduct a "social experiment" on his fellow hermits. The plan was to AFK near them and observe what they do to him.


The hermits who involuntarily voluntarily participated were Keralis, Gemini Tay, ImpulseSV and GoodTimesWithScar (Scar).



So... How do the hermits react to Grian AFK?


Keralis, being a kind soul, decided to "improve Grian's quality of life" by gifting him a new face. And I quote,


[Grian] can't be going about looking like a fish! -Keralis, S8

Keralis putting a derp face on Grians head while AFK
screenshot: Grian, Hermitcraft 8, ep 17

Grian was ungrateful and removed the "upgraded" face. He then wandered to a cute, cottage-core vibes marketplace, built by Canadian YouTuber GeminiTay. Very quickly, Grian found himself boxed in a glass bottle and he screeched in appreciation for Gem's protection.


Little did he know, Gem was actually bottling him up for sale. She's a businesswoman, after all... With the Froggie hat and all. Gem conducted an intense business negotiation with fellow Boatem member, ImpulseSV and sold this piece of fish for mere 5 diamonds.



Great minds do think alike because Impulse also gave Grian a face makeover by putting his tophat on Grian. Grian then silently complained about why everyone loved putting objects on his head.


"But... Grian's face is the blankest blank canvas on the server, no?"


Exactly! Since it would be tedious to move Grian all the way back to Boatem, Impulse plotted his revenge... by blowing up Grian using end crystals.



"That's a pretty impulsive move."


I see what you did there!



Then came the pesky neighbour, another fellow Boatem neighbour... Scar!


And like Impulse, his plan was to kill Grian by dropping him into the Boatem hole... at the sky limit.


"That means Scar has to build a lot... it would have taken both of them a lot of time too!


It's true it's long for both the YouTubers but hey, it's Scar we're talking about. His monologues are hilarious, even though we're technically eavesdropping on his "private self-conversation"!


At this point, I have been sitting ... for 25 minutes. Scar has been entertaining himself [ever since]. -Grian, S8


BTW apparently Scar forgot to wear his pants and he loudly expressed his "luck" that Grian didn't see it since he's AFK.


"Oh... how the turns have tabled!"



These hilarious moments are shouting the same message: time to work on my magic as hermitcraft snippets!


After compiling every hermit's raw footage, I snipped out the best moments and iconic quotes. I then arranged them in chronological order, including Grian's POV and commentary.


Trivia: I once considered adding the post-AFK scenes between Grian and Scar, but I decided cutting Scar's manliest... yes, a legitimate manliest scream is the best finale!


Here's where I realised an issue... there is no transition between Grian and other hermits' POV. Viewers would be very confused! How do I compile the various perspectives into a coherent story-telling?


With this, I brainstormed and refreshed my memory of reality shows: how do they shoot and transition between the scenes and post-mortem interviews?


It then got me thinking: this is Grian's social experiment. His commentary is technically him interviewing himself.


What if I edit Grian's POV as though he's talking in front of a selfie camera?

Since self-records are usually grey/green-scaled, I desaturated all of Grian's POV.


Next, I downloaded a typical recording camera overlay. Another idea popped up (you know you're motivated when ideas and improvements simply pop up every second): this is Minecraft. Adding an IRL overlay element would be a tad bit out of place.



Is there a Minecraft alternative to this?



Since cameras weren't in vanilla Minecraft, I figured the Minecraft 1.17 Update's spyglass would be the best fit. After all, it has its own interface when it was zoomed in!


I tried this overlay and absolutely loved it!



My favourite video editing style: Subtitles and Easter Eggs!


Okay, all the raw footage is done and dusted. Time to spruce up the edit! I've been editing videos for almost a year now, and my niche is... *drum rolls* adding subtitles and easter eggs!


my favourite video editing style: adding subtitles and quotes, but with easter eggs and my own commentary!
screenshot: quote with easter eggs

When the video footage is more or less done, I scoured my library for background audio.


Admittedly, it's difficult to find unique audio that corresponded to this edit. I tested generic music and realised its tempo changes coincided with the video's transition between hermits.


Excited, I trimmed the background audio to several parts. Lastly, I refined the video snippets to suit the music tempo. And voila, the edit is done!


Wondering what music I chose? It's "Amazing Plan" by Kevin MacLeod.



Check out my edit below on YouTube. Till then, see ya!



Disclaimer:

hermitcraft.snippets is a Hermitcraft fan blog and is not associated with Hermitcraft in any form. Kindly contact hermitcraft.snippets should you wish to remove any of the published media.

Comments


bottom of page