top of page
  • Writer's picturemypassion.mythoughts

From Novice to Pro: My Journey as a Website Designer and Blogger with No Prior Experience


During my university days, I volunteered as a Marketing and Design officer for the student societies I joined.


There are two components implied in this position:


Firstly, Marketing.


job scope as social media coordinator is to also establish barnd awareness
I was introduced to marketing on social media accounts, such as content creation.

Secondly, Designing. One of my responsibilities is to revamp the website.


The naive me initially thought I could get away easily by merely updating the website content on the first week and leaving it (for good) for the rest of the semester.


However, the moment I opened the web editor...


It doesn't appeal to me at all. Everything is too basic. Straight out of a template, so to say.

I tried to soothe the designer in me by slightly tweaking a few elements or two... Yet my mind is far from satisfactory.


The downside of being in the creative industry, perhaps?


Fun fact: I found out the content was already two years old when I logged in.


This is when I decided it's to give the website a complete makeover:



Time for website and UI/UX re-design!


The existing website is too basic and not apealing at all. Coming from a design perspective, it requires a focused, user-friendly approach. I made use of my design skills and revamp the entire website all on my own.
I put my design skills to good use by redesigning the entire website.

Now that I've made up my (perfectionist) mind for a complete makeover, the next question pops up almost immediately:


How am I supposed to redo everything? I have no experience in web design!



Easy. I learn and explore.


Web tutorials, YouTube videos, quick research on other websites, rigorous experimentation and repetition.


The existing website require intricate design makeover. I have no prior web and UI design experience, so I start from scratch: learn, explore and experiment all that I can. mypassionmythoughts
Because that's who I am: a relentless learner.

I started by brainstorming potential content before planning and organising them in the most logical flow. I also took the initiative to provide the writing, even though it's the secretary's job.


It took me a few days to fully revamp the website... and a few weeks of minor tweaking until the website reached a presentatble standard!


So that's me. I heaved challenges and ended up creating my website: which is mypassionmythoughts!



My life motto? Always learning, always improving.


Once I'm interested in something, I will study it and will not stop until I achieve the result that I anticipated. I may have explored every single nook, however, I will not say that I have mastered everything.


There's always something new... something worth improving on!

This personal trait does demonstrate my vast range of capabilities. While it does make me versatile, I cannot escape from the clutches of:


Stress.


Overworking.


And more stress!


The accumulated stress eventually formed a habit in me: a bad habit that I still cannot shake off today:



The unrealistic expectation of achieving perfection, and the fear of imperfection.


It took me years to notice the change in me: it took me even longer to realise how impactful it can be to my life, be it my present and future.


The difficult part, however, is establishing my own will to set it right.


Reconfiguring one's mindset positively and staying close to resolutions require much stronger determination and persistence.

It's easy to devise a recovery plan but always difficult to execute. And it's even easier to succumb to your own (bad) habits when the event repeats itself!


But hey... can't I reapply my life motto here? Always learning, always improving?



My resolution to being overtly relentless? Take it slow.


Yup. Organise and think(!) before starting the project. Never rush into starting one until you've given some sensible thought to it! Maintain a clear mind.


And when you are caught in the loop of stress: step back, breathe, and carry on.


Being relentless is selling but it burns you out too. My resolution to this is to taking it one at a time to achieve the balance of work, play and life. mypassionmythoughts

Though stress and overworking are inevitable at times, they do not mean that you can ignore yourself just to get things done. These can damage your body—as well as both the mind and soul!


Now, whenever I am faced with any of the three (most of the time, all three of them together) I will always remind myself of my mantra:


Allow serenity to embrace you—and carry on.


Disclaimer:

Kindly refer to my Pixabay collection for information about every published media in my blog posts. Please contact mypassion.mythoughts should you wish to remove any of the above media.

bottom of page