top of page
  • Writer's picturemypassion.mythoughts

My Architectural Journey #1

Updated: Jul 15, 2023


We all need passion to live meaningfully. As for me, it's architecture.


Here, I’ll be sharing a brief overview of my architectural journey.


Essentially, this memoir can be broken down into two main parts: the early days back in my home country and the recent memories in overseas.


This blog post will focus on the times in my own home country when I was still young... and naive?



Phase 1: Pre-architecture


What pulled me into architecture?


I have loved playing games since young, particularly the design simulation games. The first games that piqued my interest in design are Facebook (ancient) games: Restaurant City and Cityville. If you remember any of these games, kudos!


And dang, you're old!!



Okay, back to the story.


That's when I decided to pursue the design field and my first option is to be an interior designer.


My father suggested that I try architecture because it encompasses both interior and "exterior" design... if you get the gist.


Now don't get us wrong; there's nothing wrong with interior design.


My father's strategy in choosing a career is to aim for an all-rounded position with specific professional skills. I am merely a student back then, so I do not think much and heeded his advice.


P/S Fast forward ten years later, I only have him to thank because I'm absolutely loving the opportunity to do both in architecture! My work experiences proved that having a specific skill is imperative to secure a job. Otherwise, you can be replaced easily—and very quickly too!



Phase 2: Undergraduate Studies, Bachelor of Architecture


Following a typical education system, I was enrolled in the Bachelor of Architecture in my country's first-rank university. It was a three-year course and trust me, it was a gruelling one.


Everything is completely different from my expectations! I couldn’t comprehend what the tutors were saying and I don’t know what is expected of me.

The future is full of uncertainties, particularly when you're a meagre student trying to navigate tertiary education life.
Three years passed by, and I still don't know where it'd lead me.

Now that I revisit these horrible memories, I guess I have focused on the incorrect, redundant details too much that I neglected the real meaning of architecture.


What is architecture?


Uh... a building design? Basically, some walls enclose a room, no?


This misconception was reflected throughout my six semesters where I graduated three years later with an average GPA of... approximately 3.50, maybe? I am uncertain how "good" this GPA is, but one thing is for sure:


I did not enjoy my Bachelor's experience as much as I thought I would.

Students who cannot cope with university loads often struggle with depression and anxiety. Please seek professional help
If anything, my studies peaked my anxiety and depression.


Phase 3: My First Architectural Job as an Architectural Student.


I graduated in 2015, a poor timing because it was the start of my country's economic downturn. I am lucky to be employed as an Architectural Student in a small architectural firm despite not much work at all.


Nevertheless, I strive to learn as much as I can and thereafter improved my software skills tremendously.


You thought my unpleasant undergraduate experience would stop my pursuit of architecture.


Nope. The irony, I was rather eager to further my architectural studies after one year of (not too much) work. The layback office environment is probably another reason that made this decision.


Then came the dilemma: local or overseas? If overseas, where?


Local versus Overseas Studies Dilemma


Local is definitely much cheaper: I have saved enough that I can pay my own tuition fees.


HOWEVER! Will I be limited once again by similar pedagogy and architectural ideas?


The immediate flashbacks of my undergraduates were not helping, and the currency conversion rate is beyond terrifying.


I resolved to Australian universities, where I shortlisted only Australia's Group of Eight (Go8) and the top 50 of the QS World University Rankings (subject: architecture). Four universities made my list and I applied to them all.


Waiting for university offers can be a pretty daunting experience. In a way, it's the world's statement of your capability and worth as a person.
All that is left is to wait.

Personal note: I am not obsessed with prestige or social status etc, but considering how studying overseas will cost me and my family (more than) a fortune, it's common sense to aim for the best, higher-ranked universities.


Talking about prestige, I also looked at the National University of Singapore (NUS), a university ranked top five in the QS. While the prestige is impressive, I'm pondering over their lifestyle that could easily mirror my Bachelor's.


In the end, I forfeited this choice.


Back to the story. Six months passed and I finally received an offer on the 25th of December, 2015. Yes, on Christmas Day itself! What a blessing!


Now that it's here... Thoughts came pouring in.


What if I cannot adapt to the overseas lifestyle and therefore, culture shock?


How do I keep up with the Australian architectural mindset and pedagogy? Will history repeat itself again? Can I redeem myself there?


Most importantly...



Is this truly my career path for the rest of my life?


The questions and doubts were endless, though there was only one way to find out.


travelling to australia to further my masters studies!
Pack my bags and off I go!

Wonder how my overseas studies went? Join me as I share my final architectural journey in Australia in my next blog post. See you there!



Disclaimer:

All images are credited and sourced from pixabay.com as written at the end of the article. Please contact mypassion.mythoughts should you wish to remove any of the above media.

Kindly refer to my Pixabay collection for information about every published media in my blog posts.

bottom of page